craft challenge August

2 Sep
 
teatowel apron with waitress pocket
teatowel apron with waitress pocket

Well I managed to squeeze in a project for August – you didn’t think I’d do it did you?  I made 3 teatowel aprons on Saturday night with the help of my mum, God bless her.  Now technically she only helped a little bit so I haven’t cheated!  I just needed a refresher on using my sewing machine.  It’s just a cheapie I got from KMart like um maybe 2 years ago and only just used it for the first time a few months ago to make snoods for the dogs.  I think I paid around $150-200 for it, it’s a Brother made in Japan under lisense but it has a lot of features for the price and I didn’t want to commit a lot of money to something that possibly wouldn’t get used!  Anyway the aprons were easy to make, a great project for a beginner and inexpensive if you stuff it up.  I’m quite proud of them and can’t wait to bake some cookies while wearing one.  Not sure if I shall keep them all to myself or give as gifts?

teatowel apron with side pocket

teatowel apron with tie at front

teatowel apron with tie at front

 
 

Mum and I spent Saturday afternoon in Spotlight and I walked away with a nice bundle of goodies for $37.  I wasn’t going to buy anything after my last trip there but mum said “while they’re on sale…” which is true – some of the fabrics were $2 per metre which doesn’t happen everyday.  I plan to make some tiered skirts with the corduroys – I have this gorgeous green print cord Mossimo skirt I bought at Target when I was in America (they have way better clothes than our Targets) so I’m hoping to copy the style as it’s one of my fave skirts.  I also picked up a few cheap patterns – one was $2, bargain.  So lookout for me in my new glad rags.

spotlight stash

Craft Alive was on in Shepparton and I ended up manning the Kaszazz stand on the Sunday morning.  It was great fun, I got to show heaps of people how to make a pretty little butterfly card.  There were some fantastic stalls including my two faves; a lady who makes these cute little wooden style buttons and a quilting shop both from Wangaratta.  I had trouble deciding which buttons to buy so I just got some love hearts and I’ll check out her website for future projects.

(photo courtesy of Karen H)

This Saturday is my Four Flowers scrapbook page workshop and I have plenty of spaces left so if you’re interested give me a hoy (the sooner the better plz).  I had fun last night unpacking and repacking the orders for the Numurkah party, it was like Christmas time with goodies spread all over the place.  We had a special on for August when you spend $60 you could buy a surprise pack for $20 with $60 worth of product in it – well they are great value and I think all the ladies who took advantage of this offer will be very pleased.  I did buy 3 for myself he he heee.

Better blast off – am fighting a cold that dear James has passed on so don’t panic if I don’t post for a few days (and this is different to y normal slackness in posting…how?)

Take care

Kris

2 Responses to “craft challenge August”

  1. Gaby September 4, 2008 at 6:09 pm #

    Kris you are so bloody talented! I love the apron with the side pocket!

  2. Nadia September 13, 2008 at 8:30 pm #

    Hi Kris,
    Nice meeting you today. Love your blog page. I have my husband on a major assignment now, to set up my web page. The training today was great and worth the 2 hour drive there and back. See you again at the next training day. NadiaX

Leave a Reply

