making friends…again

6 Jan

Wow I have been on facebook chatting with people I went to uni with way back in 1993 God I cringe whenever I say 1993 and uni in the same sentence, makes me feel sooo old.  I was a bit apprehensive about talking to people just because it’s been so long but so far everyone has been cool as.
Today I spent some time surfing some creative blogs, one that I visited was Elizabeth Kartchner’s blog; she was 2007  Scrapbooker of the Year.  She has the most gorgeous little family and some fabulous photo’s on her blog.  I love checking on other scrapbookers blogs as everyone has their own style.  That’s something that always stumps me – I don’t think I have a certain style.  It’s like if someone asks me what my fashion style would be I couldn’t answer that one either.  One day it will be skater chick, the next flowing skirts or platform wedges.  I guess I could just say eclectic?

ec⋅lec⋅tic

–adjective

1. selecting or choosing from various sources.
2. made up of what is selected from different sources.
3. not following any one system, as of philosophy, medicine, etc., but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems.
4. noting or pertaining to works of architecture, decoration, landscaping, etc., produced by a certain person or during a certain period, that derive from a wide range of historic styles, the style in each instance often being chosen for its fancied appropriateness to local tradition, local geography, the purpose to be served, or the cultural background of the client.

–noun

5. Also, ec⋅lec⋅ti⋅cist


[i-klek-tuh-sist] Show IPA Pronunciation . a person who follows an eclectic method, as in philosophy or architecture. 

Yes after reading that definition on dictionary.com I think I shall now refer to myself as an eclecticist.  Hmm bit of a mouthful though.
I finished another sample for Kyabram, the Fun in the Sun Stand Up Page.  I will post the photo tomorrow when I have some natural light to take it but for now here’s the bits and bobs I used to make it, courtesy of Kaszazz.  The Large Frangipanni’s are stamped on Java (mmmm) Bazzill and have had turquois  Perfect Pearls applied to them, ahh so pretty.  Not sure if it will show up properly…

sunstandup

Yes it did!  The hardware was originally gold but I painted it white with the snow cap Paint Dabber.  I really love working with Oatmeal cardstock.  I guess it’s the equivalent to what some people call kraft paper?  So very versatile and it makes colours really pop.  I used Oatmeal cardstock on my first workshop submission but alas I didn’t take a photo – what was I thinking – so you’ll have to send happy thoughts to Kaszazz in the hope they accept it.
chat soon
Kris

Leave a Reply

