birthday presents from a scrapbooker

7 Mar

Morning all,

Well the weather has certainly taken an about face into the cold.  A shock to the system after the heatwave we had!  So does anyone else eat more chocolate when the weather is colder?  It’s not just me right?  Anyway I have a couple of family birthdays coming up in the next few days and for my uncle and granma I have decided to give them a block of yummy chocolate.  As the years go by it’s often hard to keep thinking of presents to buy people, especially if you’re like me and like to give a present that is wanted or needed.  And as people get older there’s really not much else they need right?  Except a treat – everyone always needs a treat!  This is also a great economical gift to give in these hard times and with some scraps from your stash and a matching card I personally think it makes a delightful gift (hint hint, my birthday is in April! ha ha).

So last night at our monthly consultant crop night at Sharynnes I made the gifts and here they are in all there splendour…

birthday gift and matching card
birthday gift and matching card
For my uncle’s I used papers from the new Kaszazz My Boy! range (see not just for kids).  Please overlook the unmatched blue cardstock – I was using up scraps after all.
matching chocolate block wrapper and card

matching chocolate block wrapper and card

With Granma’s I took inspiration from the Ebony and Ivory Bling Cards workshop which I taught on Wednesday night to my Numurkah gals.  I’m really happy with how all of these turned out and I would reccomend it to everyone as a fairly simple project with great results.  I would advise the use of a bone scorer to get those nice crisp edges on the chocolate block wrapper (and the card too of course), it makes life a lot easier.
I have been working on a post about un-mounted rubber stamps, a bit of a how to and why, so I’ll get that up as soon as I can.  BUT I am heading to Myrtleford to give these gifts to their recipients this weekend so we will just see.  I also have my cousins birthday (my uncle’s daughter) and she’s a bit of a scrapper too so guess what’s she’s getting?  It will be nice to head back to the home town for a bit of R & R and catching up with the family.
’til next time
Kris
2 Responses to “birthday presents from a scrapbooker”

  1. Amy March 24, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    Hi Kris,
    I really like how you used the bone scorer to get those nice crisp edges. Does the bone scorer make the edges turn maroon?
    Amy

  2. krismakes March 24, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Hi Amy
    I love the bone scorer it’s my best friend which is funny because when I was first introduced to it I thought it was a gimmick – now I can’t live without it!
    The maroon edges were done with Aged Mahogany Distress Ink – you can apply it straight from the ink pad or use a hydra sponge. It gives a nice distress/antique look to projects.
    Cheers
    Kris

Leave a Reply

