Shabby Chic, Easter, Kids Cards

14 Apr

SHabbyChicCouh2

I’ve always loved the shabby chic look – remember Rachel Ashwell and the whole phenomenon a few years back?  It is still going strong today as it ties in well with so many other great designs.  It’s such a soothing, tranquil and refreshing style. 

 I recently made the Shabby Chic Cards workshop and was very pleased with the result.  It uses the pastel cards which I often have trouble working with because they are just so different, but now I am totally inspired to bust them out more often.  There’s white embossing, watermarking and distressing with scissors.  They really are quite lovely as you can see.

shabby-chic-cards

If you are interested in the workshop drop me a line at krismarr(at)primusonline(dot)com(dot)au

I also started the A2Z of Scrapbooking at Sharynnes on the first Friday night of this month.  I’m yet to add photos so I won’t post it until then but you wouldn’t believe how easy it is to do these layouts.  Each pack comes with instructions and a bunch of words starting with the feature letter in your pack to give you ideas.  Of course if you’re beyond the beginner stage you can ditch the instructions and do your own thing.  I think it’s such a fabulous concept.  If anyone is wanting to get together regularly to work on their A2Z album then please get in touch as I have some options available to you.

Overall it was a fantastic crop night.  Mum did her knitting!  And I think my friend Rosie thoroughly enjoyed some time out.  Deanne made up the Kissing Cards workshop which now I just have to do, it’s an excellent technique to use with our new solid sillhouete stamps.  Don’t worry you won’t get ink anywhere near your lips!

Last Wednesday night saw me in Numurkah with my mothers group girls to make the Mothers Day Frame workshop – rather appropriate don’t you think?  I had to hide it when Mum was over as it’s part of her Mother’s Day present!  You can see it here.  It was great to catch up with them as we always have so much fun and laughs galore.

greekbread

And Happy Easter to everyone – hope you had a good one.  We relaxed at home on our own which was actually very very nice.  I did some crafting and business stuff which I’d been putting off (tax stuff – urghh).

3d-kids

Aren’t they fabulous?  Our 3D Kids Aquacolour Cards.  I finally finished them after starting them at National Training yonks ago!!!  I will be teaching this workshop next month and my Numurkah girls are going to love it.

goal-jnl

I also made this little journal book inspired by a Naomi Elliot workshop creation.  It’s for my goals for this year.  I had them written down but now they are pretty and I love to look at it every day!  It’s also got room for inspirational quotes and tracking my progress.  I’m happy with the way it turned out as it was one of those “free style” projects.  The cover is from the My Girl Journal Aids sheet.

 

I am proud to announce that I have designed my first 5PQ and will post photo’s once it has been accepted.  I think you’ll like it – lots of different techniques and looks.  And no it’s not the one I spoke about many moons ago, that one is still brewing in the background.  Also no it’s not cards – yay for those of wanting to more variations in the 5pQ’s.  I do have a few new ideas for some 2H workshop too – somebody stop me!!!  My brains is going to overload one of these days.

Though it may have been warm and sunny today don’t be fooled – winter is coming.  And one thing about cooler weather that I can embrace?  Winter boots and tights!  Hooray!

boots

’til next time

Kris

ps I’m trying something new with my craft photos – softening and blurring the edges..what do you think?  I still need a book on how to use elements!

9 Responses to “Shabby Chic, Easter, Kids Cards”

  1. woody April 14, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    I’m looking forward to kicking off my boots for good. At the moment I need them on first thing and then later they come off – yeah, the weather must be warming up!!

  2. Gab April 16, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    I love love love the shabby chic cards

    • krismakes April 19, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      They’re pretty aren’t they? Would make good baby cards methinks hee hee!

  3. Jo April 16, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Hi Kris, been a bit slack with my blog, Kanga’s Kaszazz, and finally got around to reding your lovely comment – thank you! Did you really join at the same time as me? It’s really funny how many people I’ve met did! The funniest thing was at the Jan TTD when there were 4 of us with almost consecutive consultant numbers!
    Anyway, love your work – those pastel cards are gorgeous. Might have to try them myself!
    Jo

    • krismakes April 19, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      Hi Jo
      Thanks for your comment. I too am sometimes guilty of neglecting my blog, we need to invent more hours in the day!!
      Kris

  4. Devin April 19, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    Your cards are just adorable! I wish I could do scrapbooking. I’ve tried a few times and I just get so overwhelmed! I really should finish up my eldest son’s 1st year book.. ha!

    • krismakes April 19, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

      Hey Devin,
      That’s how I feel about sewing – I’m going to start with baby steps so I can at least make a start on something!
      cheers
      Kris

  5. froginapot May 27, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    Beautiful cards, thank you for sharing.

  6. 通販 クラッチバッグ November 5, 2013 at 6:12 am #

    Your method of telling the whole thing in this piece of writing is really nice, all be
    capable of easily understand it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

