firday fives 29.05.09

30 May

Here we are…

1. Every winter I always make this self saucing pudding whenever the need for something warm and chocolatey occurs.  It’s so easy and doesn’t dirty every pot and pan in the house.  I used to buy the packet mix ones before I got this cookbook and this is just as simple to prepare with ingredients most of us already have in the pantry. 

Chocolate Delicious [adapted from Australian Quick & Easy Cakes, Muffins etc…by Robyn Martin]

50g butter

1 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons cocoa

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1/2 cup soft brown sugar

1 tablespoon cocoa

1 1/2 cups boiling water

icing sugar to dust

Melt butter in a saucepan big enough to fit all ingredients.  Take off heat and add sifter flour, baking powder and first measure of cocoa.  Add milk, sugar and vanilla and beat with a wooden spoon until smooth.  Pour into a greased 4 cup capacity oven proof dish.  Mix brown sugar and second measure of cocoa in a small bowl and sprinkle over mixture in dish.  Pour boiling water evenly over the top (pouring over the back of a spoon may help).  Bake at 180 degrees celcius for 35 to 40 minutes or until pudding springs back when lightly touched.  Dust with icing sugar.  Serve with cream and/or icecream.

 

2. Lately I’ve been hearing a lot of non mainstream music being played on our local commercial radio station {what’s with that?}.  Personally I prefer to listen to Triple J but at work the choice is out of my hands.  Anyway I am a little dismayed at the ammount of Lilly Allen on high rotation at star fm.  Don’t get me wrong I really like Lills but the commercial stations just play everything to death and I’m worried that I’ll no longer be able to tolerate hearing her.  I guess it’s good for her as it signifies her hitting the big time, much like Missy Higgins going commercial.  But I still feel a little sad. 

3. I’m still slogging through Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer so no new book news to report there.  I usually race through books but lately it’s been slow going.  I’m thinking that I need to start a must read list of books so when I visit the library I’m not just wandering aimlessly picking up books that sound ok.  So first on my list will be Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  I have looked at the cover in many a book store but still haven’t read it.  It sounds intriguing.

4. Ok so I succumbed and bought myself some mineral powder make up.  It seems to be all the rage right now and after trying on several brands at priceline yesterday [and leaving with two different colour eyelids due to eyeshadow trialing] I got this one.  It certainly wasn’t the cheapest but it was the only one that didn’t make my skin flake upon contact.  Also I left it on all day and my face didn’t get itchy or irrtated like it does when I wear foundation.  It’s been a while since I bought make up so I thought I would give it a try.  I’ll let you know how it holds up over the next few weeks.

5. If you’re into cute please visit cuteoverload you will be awwwing and ahhhhing all day long.  Be sure to  check out whack-a-kitty, not what you think at all, awwwwww.

Enjoy the weekend my pretties

Kris

One Response to “firday fives 29.05.09”

  1. Mineral Makeup May 31, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    Mineral makeup helps women look beautiful without the negatives of chemically damaging their skin. I believe that any woman looking to improve their appearance and quality of their skin should look at getting mineral makeup.

Leave a Reply

