Blog Wars – Bears {project 4}

23 Jul

This week we’ve been making paper creations with Teddy Bears and it got me thinking about childhood toys.  Did you have a teddy bear when you were little?  I had one that was similar to Big Ted on Playschool, as well as a large Pink Panther which was later paired with a mini pink panther.  My most loved though was a little lamb by the name of Lamby (of course) who had a rattle in her head.  I dressed her in a handmade crocheted dolls dress, the same dress I once put on my cat while she was sleeping….I have a photo somewhere, animals can be so tolerant!  I still have Lamby, she is safely tucked away in a pillowcase in the linen closet and now I really feeling like pulling her out and giving her a cuddle, ahh sweet memories.

Anyway here is today’s creation, a gorgeous little box just the right size for a few treats or a nice surprise.

bwbears5a

bwbears5b

I embossed the pinecone bazzill with perfect medium and the ornate leaves rollergraph before I folded it up.  The old bear was stamped onto some ebony and ivory paper with walnut distress ink (love that stuff) which I also used on the edges of the box lid.  I was really happy with the embossing as the texture of the bazzill came through giving it a nice linen type look.  I decided I need to try imperfect embossing for a more distressed look; so that’s on my growing to do list now.  I don’t know why I’ve never made any little boxes before – they are so, so simple and I think I might be able to attempt Jo’s acetate box now!

Did you see the sweet baby layout that Tina made on Tuesday?  Great idea for a mum to be.  Ahh if only there were more hours in the day for me to create and play!

Kris

3 Responses to “Blog Wars – Bears {project 4}”

  1. Joanne July 23, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Wow ..Kris..this is sooo darn cute..I love it .. I want one…lol

    You’ve gott luv that bear stamp.
    Cheers Jo

  2. Tina July 23, 2009 at 9:43 pm #

    Love, love, love it!!! Nice… gonna have to try & make that one myself. Love the brown & the embossing looks great. Thanks for mentioning my baby layout. I gave this 12 x 12 to my neighbour her baby is due October.
    Cheers, Tina

  3. Sharynne July 24, 2009 at 9:58 am #

    Very nice…I too love that embossing… Keep up the great work.

    Sharynne

Leave a Reply

