Blog Wars – metal embellishments } #1

3 Aug

Howdy all

Hope everyone had a good weekend?  I had a pretty cruisy one; played with my metal embellishments; checked out the Martha Stewart Line at Spotlight; watched movies; bought more organic make up and cooked two batches of soup!  I always have these good intentions of spending my Friday night scrapping but when I get home I just don’t have the energy or motivation…so sad 😦

I have to say I was a little disappointed with the Martha Stewart stuff, it was quite expensive and the quality of the scrapbooking papers was fairly cheap looking.  There were a few nice punches but nothing that really grabbed me.  I saw some gorgeous paper lantern decoration but they were over $40….for paper lanterns?  I don’t know how well the line will do over here, I mean most people have heard of her but we really haven’t had much exposure to the Martha phenomenon!

Now onto the blog wars challenge.  This month I am the host and we are starting off with metal embellishments.  Kaszazz have a great range of co-ordinating brads, bookplates, pins, turnmounts, spiral clips and eyelets.  They really add another dimension to your craft projects.  I love the little bookplates; they really jazz up a card and it’s funny that we usually only use them on layouts or off the page projects.  Well not anymore I say!

Check out this sweet little Christmas card…

bwmetal1

I’ve done some subtle stamping with the Christmas baubles by using aged mahogany distress ink on crimson bazzill.  The green strip to the right edge is some of our new card essentials in olive.  I wet it with my aquash brush then tore it and crumpled it a bit for more texture.  The “merry” stamped inside the bookplate is actually “merry christmas” from our mini messages stamp set.  I like splitting up the sentiments into individual words, it gives you a lot more versatility.  I think using the bookplates on cards make them just that little bit fancy!  What do you think?  I’d love to hear your opinions and ideas.

Don’t forget to keep an eye on the other girls blogs to catch some of their metal embellishment creations.

Kris

Leave a Reply

