Blog Wars – metal embellishments } #2

4 Aug

Hope you’ve eased into the week without any hiccups!  This morning the cat decided I should be woken up at 6 o’clock, then again at 6.30 and 6.40.  Let’s just say I was not a happy chappy considering my alarm doesn’t go off until 7am!

Yesterday was a good day as I got my tax refund, yippee.  Alas it is going to be used to pay off the credit card so no shopping spree for moi.  What about you guys that were lucky to get money back, did you have to pay the bills with it or were you able to buy something special for yourself?  A few years ago before Gerty (my new car) my car rego and insurance would be due in September so I always used my tax money for that which was rather convenient!  But I am glad to be able to get a chunk of the credit card paid off, it’ll still need some work but this will definetely help.  Note to self:: do not put large purchases like a new computer on your credit card ha ha.

 

Now let’s move on to the crafty stuff.  Here’s my second project for the metal embellishment challenge…

bwmetal2

I’m really happy with this creation.  I’ve seen a lot of punched hole cards in magazines and online but I always forget to try it out.  Just don’t look to closely at the spacing between the holes…ooops shouldn’t have mentioned that right?  I did it freehand which I don’t think was too bad but next time I’ll use the circle shape to pencil the curve in before punching. 

The green strip is actually white card coloured with lime pastel fluid chalk (such a gorgeous green) and the ribbon was white grosgrain coloured with pink pastel fluid chalk.  It’s a great example of utilising what you’ve got and making your own custom paper and ribbon.  A thrifty little idea!  This whole card was made from my scraps, not a single 12 x 12 was cut down hee hee. 

I recently bought a pack of the tropical spiral clips so I was happy to be able to use one on this card.  I actually attempted to paint the silver brad, alas the paint would not stick.  I think some fine grit sandpaper may help next time.

So what do you think?  Do you like it?  Do you use metal embellishments in your creations?  What’s your favorite?  Brads?  Eyelets?  Paper clips?  Turn mounts?  Let me know in the comments section.

’til next time

Kris

3 Responses to “Blog Wars – metal embellishments } #2”

  1. Tina August 4, 2009 at 11:54 am #

    Hey Kris, Love the look of the hole punches, have to try that idea. I was wondering how you got the holes that far in from the edge of the card with the punch. Is the card smaller than it looks? Loved the way you coloured the ribbon.

    Hoping to get some of my creations up today or tomorrow!

    Cheers

    • krismakes August 5, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

      OOOps I should have mentioned that part eh? The secret is to use your silent setter or punch n set. Tricky hey? Doing it that way allows you to put holes anywhere you want, it’s great fun! The card is approx. A5 size and I put some white card behind the holes for contrast.
      Thanks for the question :o)
      Kris

  2. Fiona August 16, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

    Hi Kris,
    I love this card. Just love your creativity.
    Fiona.

Leave a Reply

