Blog Wars – Embossing }#1

12 Aug

Hey there how is your week going?  I’m enjoying my usual Wednesday off just pottering about the house 🙂

This week in blog war challenges it’s EMBOSSING oooh how exciting eh?  So far I have only made one card; I hope I’m not challenged out?  I do have some photos of a Kaszazz workshop that I recently made at training and it features some gorgeous embossing so I might share those tomorrow with you.

bwembossing1

This card was made using a resist technique with embossing.  I stamped the butterfly with perfect medium first and embossed it with clear ep (embossing powder) onto the white bazzill.  Then I stamped the background over the top with walnut stain distress ink – doesn’t sound right does it doing the backgound second?  I wiped the ink off the embossed image then applied lipstick distress ink using the ink blending tool.  The great thing about this technique is the way the ep resists taking on any actual colour itself so you end up seeing the original colour of the bazill through the image.  Cool huh?  You don’t have to stick with white either; you might like to clear emboss on a pale to medium pink or blue then use the same colour ink but in a darker shade to bring out your image.  The possibilities are endless.  You can also use a coloured ep too!

Once again I hae coloured my own strip of card to match the pink around the butterfly as I didn’t have the perfect shade of cardstock to match.  You just use the ink blending tool to apply the ink.  I love that lil’ thingamie!  You might also like to try applying the ink with a sponge for a mottled effect.  I’ve used my corner rounder with the guide removed to create my own scalloped card (another favorite tool) and faked some stitching with our stitiched stamp.  This stamp comes in a set with four other stich types plus rows of dress makers pins, scallops, safety pins, and buttons.

Ok I’m off to make a present and card for a dear friends birthday coming up on Friday – I won’t be able to post photos ’till the weekend as I don’t want to spoil the surprise!

Cheerio

Kris

4 Responses to “Blog Wars – Embossing }#1”

  1. Tina August 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    I like this card Kris, so pretty!! Don’t have that background stamp, another for the WISH list 🙂

  2. Julie August 15, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    Love this card Kris, it is really sweet. Im loving the butterfly stamp, have been using it a bit myself

    • krismakes August 16, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks Julie, I wasn’t going to buy that stamp, I mean how many butterfly stamps does one person need…apparently a lot! I use this one all the time too 🙂

  3. Joanne August 16, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Gorgeous cad Kris :-)..I love the colours you have used.

Leave a Reply

