Handmade Birthday Gifts

16 Aug

Just a quick post as the cat won’t let me type for long because it’s his dinner time!  I did promise to post photos of the gifts I made for my friends birthday – well I am happy to say that they were very well received.

dbpresent1

I made her a notebook made with mostly recyled paper and cardboard and bound it with my Bind-it-all machine which I am loving.  As you can see I’ve gone with a matching black and white theme for all the gifts.

dbpresent2

And another recycled item; I made a little decorated treat box.  I have been seeing so many little clear embellished gift boxes lately and was wondering where I could source some to do up myself.  Then as I was throwing out the empty cherry tomato container inspiration struck.  It was just too perfect, and now I can’t wait to buy more little fruits just for the containers hee hee.

dbpresent3

And here’s the matching card to top it all off!

dbpresent4

I had so much fun making and giving this present to my friend.  It makes me feel good to give gifts that have been made by my own hands and it’s even sweeter if I can incorporate some recycling and repurposing!  So how about you dear reader; have you got any good recycling or repurposing tips when it comes to hand made gifts?  I’d love to hear them, leave a comment below.

This weekend I had a very productive Saturday, pumping out four layouts!  That’s like a record for me.  I wanted to scrap some of my old photos that have just been sitting in a box getting dusty.  And I wanted to use some of my old scrap supplies that I’ve been hording for so many years.  I’ll post the photos over the next few days for you to see.

Bye for now; I hope your weekend was fabulous 🙂

Kris

2 Responses to “Handmade Birthday Gifts”

  1. Joellen August 17, 2009 at 2:35 am #

    Hey there…these look great! I keep looking at the bind-it-all and wondering whether it is a worthwhile tool…is it worth the money to buy it?

    • krismakes August 17, 2009 at 10:23 am #

      Hi Joellen thanks for your comment. I had been eying off the bind-it-all at spotlight for ages and my mum (God bless her) said why don’t you wait, it might go on sale. And low and behold I got one of those vouchers that was spend $100 get $30 off or something like that. Anyway it ended up costing me about $60 and I got the wires at the same time. Spotlight was the cheapest place I ever saw them at $79 each when everyone else had them over $100 plus postage. So far I’ve only made notebooks but I am hanging out to try a mini album so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

