Blog Wars Fluid Chalk }1

30 Aug

Happy Sunday everyone!  It is a gloriously sunny day here though still a bit fresh outside.  I’m thinking it might be a good day to get back into the gardening, it’s the kind of day that makes you want to run out to the garden center and buy a bunch of punnets to plant up!

And I know it’s late but going with the lovely spring theme I bring you my creation for the blog war challenge last week which was fluid chalk inks.  I use my fluid chalk ink all the time, there’s so many pretty colours and when you stamp with them they dry to a soft tone.

bwchalk1

For this card I used the fluid chalks on white gloss card, the trick is that you let the ink dry then buff the card to bring back the shine to the stamped images.  It’s really a great effect.  I even made a little bookmark with the strip of gloss that I had to trim off, see you can use up every scrap when making cards!

bwchalk1a

I tried to get a close up of the shine off the gloss card, it’s really much better in person :o)  I like the way this card turned out, very fresh and spring timey!  And the new season officially starts in two more sleeps woo hoo.  I love seeing all the new growth on the plants and trees like the Manchurian Pear we planted approx. twelve months ago and I truly thought it was dead, well bowl me over it has white blossoms all over it!  Spring really is an amazing time of year, so get out there and enjoy it.

hugs

Kris

4 Responses to “Blog Wars Fluid Chalk }1”

  1. noni22 August 30, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    Lovely card Kris – I have never used fluid chalks on gloss, will have to try. And I forgot, spring is only two sleeps away 🙂

    • krismakes August 30, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

      Thanks Leonie, you will love using fluid chalk on gloss card, it’s a great effect, I just wish we still sold the brayers to use with them too. One tip just be careful when stamping as sometimes the stamps will want to slide right off the glossy card. Look forward to seeing your creations!
      Kris

  2. Dryer Vent Cleaning September 20, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Excellent site, keep up the good work

  3. Bill Bartmann September 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. <a href="http://wiki.hudson-ci.org/display/~bill-bartmann&quot;

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

