Mint Julep rival and school theme scrapping

23 Sep

Hello dear friends

I thought I’d better do a little update in case you were wondering where the heck I disapeared to hee hee!  I’ve mostly just been buzzing around doing a bit of this and a bit of that but with nothing really major to report at this point!

I did make my own cordial which was the best tasting cordial second only to this lovely tipple0mintjulep

And it was so easy that I have vowed to never buy shop cordial again!  I’m going to try and imitate the mint julep because the taste is just amazing.  I got the recipe from recipezaar and just halved it as one commenter suggested.

cordial

Isn’t it the most divine colour?  And talk about fresh – you could almost drink it straight!  Apart from buying the tartaric and citric acids (easy to find in the baking section of supermarket) you may well have all you need already at home.  Do try this if you’re a cordial drinker, you won’t be disapointed.  Next on the to-do list will be a berry cordial, yummo!  If anyone else has been making their own cordials I’d love to hear about it – leave a comment below!

In the foodie arena I also made Swiss Bircher Muesli which turns out to be one of the best breakkie’s ever.  So zingy and fresh; I’m eating it almost every morning now.  Is anyone else a fan of the bircher?  And my daily fruit intake has gone from zero to 2+ which is surely commendable?  Woo hoo for a healthy life style.  Now if I can just keep up the dvd workouts I’ll be happy lol.

Craft wise things have been a little slower.  I did purchase two sewing project kits; a little monkey softie and a cushion thingie.  They are complete kits though with fabric, cotton, instructions etc so I should be able to manage them ok.  And they came in the most adorable little cases – don’t you think?

monkey

I finally got to make and teach this workshop by Naomi Elliot.  Love these cards so much especially as they are easy as pie to whip up.  They use the distress inks and ink blending tool.

flourish-blended-2H

I’ve been working on a few workshop submissions but haven’t really had enough time to sit down and really get stuck into them.  Also my blog war challenges have fallen by the wayside – will try to rectify this shortly.  Here’s a couple of things I’ve squeezed in lately.

rustic-card-5PQ

waterfall2a

waterfall2b

I have been enjoying training and spending time creating with my new recruit Lynda.  It’s so much fun to have someone to play with.  We are going to start a regular get together with my upline Deanne to make up more workshop samples.  Crafting is great when you can combine it with a coffee and a chat!

I had a good clean of the house on the weekend, sort of a lead up to the big SPRING CLEAN that needs to be done.  And James has headed back into the garden now we have a brand spanking new whipper snipper, so the yard is starting to look normal once again.  The nicer weather really helps spur you on especially seeing all the spring blossoms.  Have you been out in the garden lately?  What have you been planting, flowers, veggies?  I’d love to know.

So that’s a fair round up what I’ve been doing instead of blogging he hee!  I will endeavor to not leave it so long between posts this time.

Cheerio

Kris

PS Kaszazz have had a new release of gorgeous products including school theme papers and stamps, plus distress embossing powder, new smooch colours and more design adhesives!  Check them all out on line here (click on SEP 09) or email me to organise a new flyer sent straight to your door for just $2.00 (AUS ONLY) krismarr(at)iprimus(dot)com(dot)au

Here’s some pics of two workshops from National Training using the new products…

school-2Hb

school-2Ha

shopaholic-2H

3 Responses to “Mint Julep rival and school theme scrapping”

  1. Tina September 23, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Great to see what you have been up to!! I missed you.

  2. Sharynne September 23, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    So glad you have returned!! I have missed you and what ou are up to!! Talk soon
    Sharynne

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog War: Food/Recipe Theme}2 « - September 30, 2009

    […] little tag I whipped up in no time (after making one that was totally hideous!).  It goes with my homemade cordial I posted about here.  I love hand made labels on foodie items, whether it’s a jar of jam or […]

Leave a Reply

