Handmade Christmas Decorations

7 Dec

I wanted to share some decorations I made recently.  I had a lot of fun doing these and am rather chuffed with how they came out.  I took some inspiration from Naomi Elliot who featured a Christmas decoration made from the Kaszazz chipboard scallop.  I actually loathed these scallops when they came out as I thought they were pretty useless but now I will eat my words…I love them!  And now I have lots of ideas on how to use them.  Isn’t it funny, sometimes you just need to see something through another persons eyes.

This one I made for my Mum as her favorite colour is blue (sorry for the bluryness).  I love this and am thinking I need to make another one for me to keep!

This shabby chic style pink ornament is the first one I made and I will keep for myself.  I’m thinking of hanging it on the front door perhaps instead of the tradtional wreath, it’s looks nice there!  I love how the black takes the pink from girly girl to classic.

This last one I made in traditional Christmas colours and I am sending it to a swap-bot friend.  The colour is a bit off as I took the photo inside at night 😦

I used all Kaszazz products for these including the new Christmas stamps, design adhesives, glitter, embossing powders, distress crackle paint and distress ink.  I love them all and only wish I had time to make more before the big day!  I’d love to know what you think of my ornaments, so…

So how is your Christmas decorating going?  Do you put up a tree and lights?  Have you made any of your own decorations this year?  I plan on putting our tree up in the next few days as I want to be able to enjoy it for longer this year!  I am also thinking of whipping up some scrapbook paper garlands as they appear to be rather easy…I’ll let you know how that goes ha ha!

cheerio

Kris

7 Responses to “Handmade Christmas Decorations”

  1. JoBee December 7, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    Awesome decorations Kris…I found it hard to choose between the Sliver-Blue and the Shabby Chic..

    I chose the Silver-blue in the end.

    I’m going to have to give these a try.. Thanks for the inspiration
    Cheers Jo

    • krismakes December 8, 2009 at 11:14 am #

      Thanks Jo, stay tuned for some tree decorations I’ll be posting soon, they are inspired by these.

  2. Tina December 9, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    Fantastic Kris, love them!!! I wish I had some time to make one up too before Christmas Day. Just not enough hours 😦
    Cheers, Tina

    • krismakes December 10, 2009 at 7:17 am #

      I know how you feel Tina, I am still trying to make enough Christmas cards to send out!

  3. Liddy October 4, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks for the awesome idea, was looking for some ideas to make for the local old folks Christmas lunch and these are perfect, going to get cracking real soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Handmade Christmas Cards and Tree Ornaments « - December 10, 2009

    […] were created for my handmade ornament swap I hosted on swap-bot.  I took the lead from the scallop ornaments I’d made earlier on.  I am loving the distress crackle paint at the moment.  I had quite a […]

  2. thinking… christmas cards « - November 27, 2010

    […] more decorations […]

Leave a Reply

