Winter Blues – Over?

11 Aug

Does anyone else suffer from the dreaded winter blues?  Lately I have been slouching around doing pretty much nothing at all.  It’s actually been getting me down a lot, hence why no posts – I didn’t want to spread the depression!

But it seems perhaps I have overcome it, at least I am praying that I have.  The last week or so has seen me do a few crafty projects and I feel a little perkier too.  Bring on the sun I say 🙂

I have one large achievement to share – I sewed myself a skirt!!!!  This is majorly huge business for me and if you’ve been following my blog for a while you would have heard me lament about not being able to take that first sewing step.  I had cut the material out with my friend Rosie before I left Shepparton and Mum gave me a gentle nudge and guiding hand and I finished it under her supervision.  I was so excited to finally have done it.  And you know what?  It wasn’t as scary as I had thought it would be.  I truly enjoyed making it and I hope to start another sewing project soon.  But without further ado here it is…

It’s bright and fun and I love the pattern and mini corduroy.  It would be great made in cotton for summer too and maybe one in that crinkly material…seersucker I think?  I am quite happy with the results, not bad for a first time, what do you think?  Oh and I don’t know how James did it but I really like the grainy photo effect!

I’d really like to attempt this blouse by angry chicken.  I must look up the pattern to see if it’s available in Australia.  It looks pretty simple, no buttons or zips, perfect for me!

I’ll be back soon with some papercraft projects to share too.

Happy Days

Kris

2 Responses to “Winter Blues – Over?”

  1. sweetypiedie August 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I can relate to the winter blues. It is hard when we’ve had so much dreary weather for so long.

    I love the skirt! I can see myself taking that first sewing step soon too. If only I could find room for the sewing machine!

    • krismakes August 19, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

      Thank you it was a real big deal for me to sew that thing, now just need some sunshine to wear it!

Leave a Reply

