Signs, signs, signs….

19 Aug

During my coming out of “winter funk” period I made some signs for my dear friend to teach her daughter (my god-daughter) the days of the week.  I stamped all the letters and icons then laminated and attached magnets so they can be stuck on the fridge.

I’m quite chuffed with how they turned out!  I tried to make the days quite bold and the background subtle so it wouldn’t be distracting to the learning process.  I also thought that I shouldn’t make them too girly that way Gab can use them for her little man too.  All stamps and inks are from Kaszazz.  I used the Vivid ink pads for the days as they are vibrant and stand out on white card stock.

Then I decided to make signs for my dishwasher with the same design.  We have the dish drawer type and it’s a pain pulling them out constantly to see which one has clean dishes and which one dirty.  Problem solved!  These work great and I think they look cute too.  Now if I could just get James to put his dirty dishes in there 😛

Have you ever made teaching aids or signs for your dishwasher?  I’d love to see them; leave a link in the comments section.

Kris

6 Responses to “Signs, signs, signs….”

  1. Rachel Witthaus August 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Great idea! I have some magnetic photo paper that I might just print out something similar for our dishwasher. You could even laminate the “days” cards and punch a hole in one corner and keep them on a ring to use as flashcards, or stamp onto acetate 🙂

    • krismakes August 25, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks Rachel. Magnetic photo paper, wow what will they come up with next! I did laminate the the days of the week cards and you can either use them as flash cards like you said or stick them on the fridge with the magnet. I kind of thought each day Eliza might go through the stack and try to pick out the correct day to put up on the fridge but you could really use these cards a multitude of ways. It was a really fun but simple project.

  2. Alicia Jamieson August 19, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Cute!! Great idea

    • krismakes August 25, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks Alicia

  3. sweetypiedie August 22, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    You’ve got a good mix of fun and practicality here. The font is easily readable but the slightly askew letters make it fun.
    Gender neutral is always a challenge but you’ve done well. I just wish I could see the designs of the background stamps a bit better. I may just have to get a catalogue. Is Sunday’s background an owl or a pineapple? I can’t see it on this screen.
    You know before I knew they were stamped I thought you’d done them on the computer. The laminating and adding magnets to the back is a touch of brilliance!

    • krismakes August 25, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      Hi thanks for the comment. The wee little stamps are called Calendar Icons Set and are on page 107 of the catalogue which you can actually view on line at http://www.kaszazz.com They are great mini stamps for backgrounds and fit nicely on twill ribbon too. That stamp you asked about is an owl, he’s a smaller version of our Oscar the owl stamp!

Leave a Reply

