What’s cookin’?

7 Mar

As mentioned in my updates post, my most generous Mum gifted me a Thermomix.  As one friend asked in her email “what the hell is a Thermomix?”  Here’s a link to their site as I won’t attempt to describe everything it does as I might leave something out.  For the aussies out there, if you watched Masterchef it’s that awesome machine they used in the show a couple of times.  I think they made a sabayon in it, amongst other things.  Anyway do check out their website and recipe forum.  A word of warning though – it may blow your mind.

A friend of mine who used to also do Kaszazz is now a consultant and asked me to have a demo to start her on her way.  I was curious to see it in action, though wary of the cost but I wanted to help her out.  In my mind I was adamant that I would not buy one; we couldn’t afford it for a start and I just couldn’t justify the price.  Until I saw it in action that is.  OMG I could rave on and on about this machine for hours, seriously.  As I sat and watched it mill grain, cook risotto, whiz sorbet I was thinking to myself “how can I make it possible?”  My mum was also super impressed and for some crazy reason she insisted on buying it for me, err I mean us.  I will be indebted to her for life.  I love my Thermomix and since it arrived I have been giving it a thorough work out.

In the first few days I made;

  • Chocolate cake – it was rich and moist
  • A fast chicken curry and rice
  • Plum jam
  • Cappuccino’s
  • Lemon custard – real custard no powder here thank-you.
  • Black olive tapenade
  • Basil pesto dip, so green and fresh compared to the bought variety.
  • Sweet and sour pork meatballs in the Varoma (steamer attachment)
  • Lemon meringue pie – first time I’ve ever made one and it turned out perfect.  All three components were made in the TM, pastry, filling and meringue.
  • Boost style juice with watermelon, grapes, orange and carrot, so yummy.
  • Gorgeous creamy porridge
  • Fresh bread

 

It’s my new best friend!  I have earmarked lots of other recipes to try so I will keep you updated.  I love the fact that I can now make healthy additive free foods at home without any fuss at all.  Oh and I am not a Thermomix consultant nor do I intend on becoming one – I just love this machine, plain and simple.

do svidaniya

Kris

Leave a Reply

