Can’t see the forrest for the {Nadia’s} trees

22 Apr

A little while ago I had two lovely ladies join me for a crafty weekend, well it was about 60% crafty and 40% Thermomix!  We had such a great time and I felt absolutely no pressure to make lots of stuff, which I usually stress out about if I go anywhere for a scrappin’ weekend.  Not sure if it was because it was at my place and I didn’t have to drag my supplies halfway across the country or because the three of us gelled so well together?  Nadia was obviously feeling very inspired as I have never seen her crank out so much work, I swear she made like fifty super cool “tree” cards….well maybe not quite fifty.  And Kay also produced some lovely work as you will see in the photos below.

I showed off my tm [thermomix] and they girls were as impressed as I was the first time I saw it in action…and I just found out today that they have both bought one!  Maybe I should be a tm consultant?  Ha ha.  We enjoyed some lovely peach champagne cocktails (Bellini’s), dips, risotto and my now famous chocolate custard/pudding.  I also tried boiling my eggs in the tm and they came out lovely.

Here’s some of our creations…

Lots of trees by Nadia.  She really got her mojo on with these.  Nadia used the same tree stamp for every one of her cards but with different techniques and I love them all.  I have just ordered that tree stamp from her!

More trees!  The odd one [tree] out is mine – inspired by stampin’ up! and the teacup cards are mine too.  That cute stamp is from the January edition of Craft Stamper a UK magazine which the lovely Jess put me onto.  It has great instructions and beautiful projects, best of all each issue comes with a clear acrylic stamp.  I’m thinking I should subscribe – yes it is that good.

Another of my teacup cards and the rest are Kay’s creations.  She used some absolutely gorgeous stamps on her cards.  Sorry for the blurry shot.  Thanks gals for such a lovely weekend, it really was awesome to have you both visit – must do it again soon!

Apart from that I haven’t done a lot of crafting.  I did whip up some quick Easter cards but didn’t take pics.  They were really fast simple ones that I added a bit of zip to with a technique from the aforementioned magazine.  I heat embossed opalescent powder over the entire {coloured in} bunny image.  It was so easy but gave a light sparkle that added interest.  I did spend a lot of time plodding around in my studio getting it tidy yet again and I also made something for the wall that I love, stay tuned for that blog soon.

PS:: We gorged on Torta Caprese but alas no photo.  To be honest it did look like a chocolate fudgy mud type cake and I couldn’t be bothered fluffing around with berry’s, cream and dusting icing sugar over the top for the prefect shot.  Let’s just say it turned out fabulous, was easy as pie [or should I say easier than pie?] to make and tasted deeevine.  It made a large cake so I cut some slices and stuck them in the freezer to see if they defrost just as good – I have high hopes.  Will let you know how that turns out.

Happy Easter All

Kris xox

Leave a Reply

