Creative Chemistry Day 1 Inspiration

1 Apr

I’ve been following along with Tim Holtz Creative Chemistry class which has been totally worth every meagre penny.  Not only does Tim go through many of his products and educate you on exactly how they work and why as well as showing you some gorgeous techniques; he also throws in some fantastic little tips here and there which are so simple yet invaluable.  As you can guess I’ve been thoroughly enjoying it!

The class is just about to come to a close (sniff sniff) but I’ve got lifetime access so I can go back and watch any of the videos or download the PDF’s any time I want…forever.  Woo hooo.  If you missed out on this class do not despair – you can take the class anytime and still gain the lifetime access which is pretty awesome.

Anyway I wanted to post some pics of some of my creations after being inspired by Day 1, yep just day 1 stuff so far.  There’s a lot to take in and I didn’t want to rush anything, plus I want to get some of the products that I don’t already own like some Alcohol Inks which I feel a lot more confident about since this class.

This first one was a Brushless Watercolour technique we learnt which looked really pretty.  I used the second generation (stamping again without re-inking) for the next card, I just spritzed some more water on and away I went.

I really love the watercolour look made by stamps, makes me feel pretty darn clever.

Same technique using a solid image stamp.  The next card I may need some help…I’m not sure if I like it better as a landscape or portrait card, what do you think?

This was my own playing around with the other technique from Day 1 called Wrinkle Free Distress.  I used Broken China ink on my craft sheet and spritzed it with Gold Glow Smooch Spritz, can you see the shimmer?  It’s really an elegant effect.  I also customised my card base, there was a lot of black going on so I masked and painted, with the Gold Paint Dabber, a strip along the edge – I’m keen to use this trick again, it looks really nice!

So maybe this class with give me a much needed boost in the creativity department.  I have pretty much finished moving my “craft room” out from the spare room and into the family room, I’m already finding it easier to fit in little blocks of crafty time.

Off to watch some more class vidoes!

xK

Leave a Reply

