60 Second Banana Jam

22 Jun

Oh my did you know you can microwave bananas? I’ve cooked bananas before, usually in a fry pan with slathering of butter and brown sugar, but never like this.

20120622-112804.jpg
I just chopped half a large banana into a microwave safe bowl then zapped it for 30 seconds first (seeing as it was all new to me), had a look then zapped it another 30 seconds and voila! I’m calling it banana jam. Insert happy dance.
I popped it on some toasted five seed bread I made to have with the soup on Wednesday (see Menu Plan Monday) and it was delicious. Totally sugar free yet so sweet, with a sprinkle of cinnamon for kicks.
This would be a great jam for kids, they could even make it themselves. Just be sure to tell them to stir and rest the banana after microwaving as it will be piping hot. How about popping it on your porridge? Mmm now you’re talking.
Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

