Homemade yoghurt

31 Jul

I’ve been making my own yoghurt in the Thermomix for quite a while now. It’s a natural, plain style yoghurt with no additives or sugar. The only ingredients are full cream milk and starter. I first use a plain, organic yoghurt as my starter, then keep some of my own for the next batch.

20120730-132138.jpg
It’s not a thick yoghurt though it is creamy and not very tart. To make thicker greek style yoghurt I just drain off the whey. If I want “yoghurt cheese” or a cream cheese type product I drain a lot of whey out. The whey isn’t wasted though, I substitute it for buttermilk in recipes or use in smoothies.

20120730-133951.jpg
I make 2 litres of yoghurt at a time and it seems to last for weeks, literally. I don’t know how that works but I’ve never had it go off before it was all eaten and as I’m the only one partaking it does take me a while!
I’ll post some links later to the yoghurt recipe I use – I haven’t yet worked out how to do it from my iPhone hee Is anyone else enjoying the process of making yoghurt at home?

Leave a Reply

