selling my crafts

22 Nov

As you can see on the sticky post I am finally going to sell some of my handmade products.  It’s been a long time coming and I’ve spent many hours thinking about doing just this.  I am excited and nervous all at the same time.  I’m going to be sharing a stall at a local handmade market so I’ll be easing myself into it.  I have no idea what to expect – what if I don’t sell anything?  Eeek.  It will be a great learning experience and perhaps help me decide how to sell my crafts in the future.

I love making things but there come a point when you and all your family and friends have got enough of the stuff you made and you can’t just let it pile up in the corner going unloved.  I am trying, unsuccessfully, to get my mum to join me in selling her handmade goods.  She loves making things too and has a huge stockpile of quilts, cushions, toys and other items just laying around on my old bunk bed in her spare room.  She keeps telling me she’s not buying any more fabric/yarn/etc because once she uses up what she’s got that’s it!  However each time  I see her she’s doing another project, I don’t think she will ever be able to stop.

Once you’ve spread your handmade articles around to everyone you know, what do you do with them?  Do you donate them?  Sell them on line?  Go to markets?  I’d love to know what everyone else does with their creations.

Leave a Reply

