Summer kaftan

24 Dec

I told you I was on a sewing roll.  Here’s a quick kaftan I ran up one morning to wear the same afternoon around the pool.  I wanted something I could just throw on over my bikini before and after swimming that was somewhat stylish, floaty and cool.  And didn’t leave me feeling exposed if someone turned up to visit unannounced. Yikes!

IMG_1082

The fabric is another Vinnies find, cost me peanuts and I really like the colours.  This was a very easy make, though I did swear a bit as I think I was pulling the fabric through the machine so I got quite a few puckers but it seemed slippery which is why I had such a strangle hold on it.  Hemming around the neck was a challenge but I was too lazy to look for matching bias (which I am yet to sew anyway).  The tie is not yet hemmed but I do want to finish it off properly.

I (mostly) followed the instructions from my recent library borrow of Lovely Things to Make for Girls of Slender Means.  I do believe I will make more of these and I am sure I could make it narrower to be more “proper top” like to wear over jeans or tights.

PS Happy Christmas Eve!

4 Responses to “Summer kaftan”

  1. Anna December 6, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    This is gorgeous!!

    I can’t sew myself one so I just picked something close to this one from an online store.
    http://airllywood.com.au/airllywood-kaftans/kaftan-dress/fushia-lotus

    It doesn’t have a belt! But I think I can get it made!

    What do you think?

    • krismakes December 9, 2013 at 8:08 am #

      Wow it’s beautiful! I did wonder why it’s so expensive then I realised it was made out of silk lol. Mine is just a cotton fabric. Are you sure you don’t want to give sewing one a try? This would be an easy starter project and hey if I can make one you can too!

      • Anna December 18, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

        I haven’t tried sewing but I think I should try!
        I wanted one urgently since I’m heading to Bali this Christmas.
        I can try and make one when I’m back. 🙂

        Let’s see how it works..
        I’ll look for a nice fabric with some pretty patterns!

        Merry Christmas! ..x

      • krismakes January 10, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

        Hope you had a great holiday – did you make a kaftan?

Leave a Reply

