my journal

23 Feb

I really love journals, notebooks and diaries.  I don’t know why?  Maybe it’s the fresh blank pages, waiting patiently for ink.  Maybe it’s the size, not quite a tome but usually something you can easily carry with you.  Perhaps it’s all the options; lined, graphic, big, small, patterned covers or DIY.  I guess it all boils down to my love of paper!

I thought I would share one of the journals I have made for myself.  My dear partner saved all these blank coloured pages from the back of manuals at his work and brought them home for me.  He’s always thinking of my craftyness – I must have rubbed off on him.  My aim for this journal was not to make it too pretty, but more an everyday, bits and bobs style book.  I’ve added lots of random things as you can see in the photos…

jnl pg4

A clothing tag from Emily the Strange – is she still cool?

 

jnl pg2

A paint by numbers someone sent me in a swap.

 

jnl pg1

I love this picture – don’t we all have days like this?  If memory serves me right this was some junk mail from a health insurance company.

 

jnl pg3

 

Another clothing tag, this one Just Jeans.  I really like the colours and style and the saying “live like you mean it”.

 

jnl pg5

 

Now this is just some of what I’ve been filling my journal with.  I always wanted to make one of those swatch book  journals that you can keep a record of all your inks, stamps, water colours and so on.  Since I never got around to making that “perfect” journal, I decided to just add those things to this journal.  I have tabs which you can see in some of the photos, so that will keep things nice and organised….yeah right!  Here’s a link to a great swatch book if you need inspiration.

 

jnl pg6

 

Isn’t that stamp gorgeous?  It’s from Hero Arts.  I got it way back when I did the Tim Holtz class and put a big order in from the USA.  Mmm the order that included alcohol inks which I am yet to use?  Yes that one (hangs head in shame).

 

jnl pg8

These are my Craft Stamper Magazine free stamps (you get one with each issue).  They are acrylic and I keep them in a cute little brioche tin, which isn’t great when you are looking for a stamp but looks adorable on the shelf.

 

jnl pg7

This is another page of my playing around with markers and ink.  It was the first time I’d ever held a Copic marker so please don’t laugh at my skills or lack thereof.

jnl back

And the end.

I plan on keeping this journal on my craft desk at all times so I can easily add ideas and such, but also so I can pick it up and flick through it for inspiration.  I’ve also got a few pages of brain storming in there for my madeit shop and other things I want to make so it really is my go-to book.

Does anyone else share my journal/notebook obsession?  Please pop a link to your blog in the comments so I can visit and have a sticky nose.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “my journal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Journal ~ Baby Boy Blues | - February 23, 2013

    […] seem to be on a journal theme right now…told you I love them.  Here’s a baby journal I made recently, in the […]

  2. Baby Journal ~ Girlie Pinks | - February 23, 2013

    […] yes another journal.  Go here if you missed the boy version and here to see my own journal.  But lets talk about this sweet and lovely baby girl scrapbook, brag book, […]

Leave a Reply

