Creative Chemistry Re-visit

12 Apr

I just had a look at my original creative chemistry post (which you can read here) and realised it’s been a year since I did that class!  Good gosh time just gets away from me.  The reason I was looking it up was because last weekend I had a lovely visit from my SIL and niece and we got up to some crafty fun.  I decided to drag out my CC folder and actually start finishing the rest of the tags – I’d only done the first two…whoops.  Anyway it was soooooo much fun, I experimented with new techniques, finally tried out the alcohol inks I’d bought and it was nice to be doing craft for me instead of trying to come up with ideas for the online store.

I got through six tags in one sitting so you could say I am more than a little chuffed with myself.  You can still enrol in the Tim Holtz Creative Chemistry class at online card classes; it’s just not in “real time”, but you do get lifetime access which is great as you can go back and re-watch the video for any techniques you’ve forgotten how to do.

Here’s all the tags so far; remember the first two were done over a year ago hee hee.

IMG_1221

This one is blended spritz and flick.  I love the soft background; it looks like it would feel fuzzy to the touch.

IMG_1222

Brushless watercolour – I’ve actually been using this technique a lot, it’s simply stunning.

IMG_1223

I actually did this technique last year too but wasn’t really happy with the resulting look, I think the colours got too muddied so on the weekend I re-did the tag using just 4 colours that blend well to make wrinkle free distress.

IMG_1224

Okay this is one of my favorites, alcohol ink agates.  This was the first time I’d used the alcohol inks and I was a little scared, I’ll admit it!  Let’s just say I am now a big fan of these bright, brilliant hued inks.

IMG_1225

You know it is hard to narrow down those favorites, I mean check this one out; archival resist.  I have a little tip with this one that I’ll post later with some extra tags I made when I was playing around with these techniques.

IMG_1226

Reflections stamping uses an embossing folder with a white space area – I only had this cute Halloween folder that came close but I like how it turned out.

IMG_1227

This technique is one I want to work on as I can see the fantastic potential, I just need to hone my skills in this area; water colouring with re-inkers.

IMG_1228

Not exactly the same result as Tim but a pretty cool look in itself anyway.  This is layered misting.

So what do you think?  Can you pick a favorite, it’s hard right?  I’m wanting to keep up the momentum with these techniques and finish the class, so keep an eye out for more of these tags, coming soon.

3 Responses to “Creative Chemistry Re-visit”

  1. happyscrapperchic May 3, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Great looking tags!

    • krismakes May 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Archival Resist ~ technique tip | - April 16, 2013

    […] it worked a treat. As you can see in the previous post here and the photo below, the colours really […]

Leave a Reply

