Craft Organisation ~ Scrap Paper

28 Jul

I’ve been loosely following Home Storage Solutions 101 52 Week Challenge and last week it was craft organisation.  Since I have so many craft supplies for various types of crafts I’m taking a bit longer than the one week period and though I would do some posts along the way – on the off chance it might help someone else with some sorting and storage ideas!

IMG_1379

So the first thing I got stuck into decluttering was my scrap paper stash.  I pulled it all out and discovered that after punching shapes or die cutting I just tossed the odd shape scrap back into the folder.  This meant that when I wanted to quickly grab a bit of paper it got snagged and damaged the other scraps or I found I had a smaller piece than I initially thought because there were bits punched out all over the place.  All this adds up to wasting time and mounting frustration so I thought enough is enough.  I got all the scraps out and neatly trimmed the pieces, cutting off any punched sections or odd shapes.  Oh and i vowed in future to neaten scraps before adding them to my stash.  I also tossed a few of the tiny plain coloured paper/card as really, how many one inch pieces does a person need?

IMG_1382

So that was part one – decluttering done, yay.  Next up was organisation/storage which was a breeze as I’d found a new system a little while back and it works really well for me.  It’s basically a file container with a lid.  You can find them in most office supply stores, I got mine from Officeworks and don’t quote me but I am sure it was under $20.  I have drop files inside with manilla folders for each type of scrap paper so I can quickly grab out a folder and open it out on my desk to see all my options.  To make it easier to find the bit of paper I need I use the following labels for my sections;

  • small patterned paper
  • large patterned paper
  • white, gray and black
  • ivory, brown and tan
  • green
  • red, pink and purple
  • blue
  • yellow and orange
  • images/off cuts/die cuts/embossing

IMG_1381

The small patterned paper is for really small bits, like under 3×2″ roughly, the large is for anything bigger than that.  I find this division is good as it stops the teeny bits getting lost and accumulating.  The colours are all plain card stock and the groupings work really well for my needs.   The last category is for those bits that might have stamped images on them or have been die cut and then not used.

IMG_1380

My scrap box lives under my craft desk on the floor because I need it handy but don’t want it crowding out my space.  With the handle in the lid it’s easy to pull out and fossick around in or lift onto my desk.  I like that this scrap storage is space limited so it means when things are getting squishy I know I need to start making more projects from my scraps.

Here’s a few other storage ideas for paper scraps.

DIY Scrap Paper Library | Damask Love Blog

A homemade scrap paper library like damask love’s, great for smaller scraps.

Magazine holders from a vegas girl at heart.  This is a great idea if you have the room for it, I love the way the colours and patterns look all out on display.

scrap paper storage

Neat and tidy draws from Amanda’s Scraproom.  I’m a big fan of labels.

So there’s a few ideas on how to tackle your scrap paper issues.  If you have a post like this on your blog please feel free to link to it in the comments, I like seeing how other people store their stuff, it gives me great inspiration.

3 Responses to “Craft Organisation ~ Scrap Paper”

  1. rummuser.com August 6, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options
    out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Thanks!

    • krismakes October 26, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Hi sorry to not have replied earlier – are you a real person? Sometimes it’s hard to know. Best advise is just start writing and go with a free blog first!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Craft Organisation ~ Stamps | - August 14, 2013

    […] with my theme of decluttering and organising I thought I’d show you how I store my stamps, rubber, clear, mounted, unmounted or otherwise. […]

Leave a Reply

